Now let’s be honest we all love getting creative from writing to drawing to crafting. I was brought up in a very creative household, singing, crafting and building were happening almost ecru spare moment of the day, so the idea of going without getting creative is an anomaly to me. I’ve found recently that, after singing, my favourite creative past time would have to be embroidery.

French Knots B

Don’t get me wrong, when at 17 I first told my mum I wanted to give hand embroidery a go she looked at me like I was insane but off I went to the local haberdashery and purchases my first hoop and some skeins and I’ve never looked back.

20th Birthday Present.

“But what has any of this got to do with the cat?” I hear you cry. Well the metaphorical cat is drowning in a sea of embroidery hoops and cushion covers. so I thought I’d throw out an idea I’ve bee toying with… selling my art.

You Shine Brighter than Anyone.

I have so many ideas I’d love to do, make cushions with an embroidered side and a patterned material side, I’ve made one of these and I’m almost there on my second. The two I’ve made so far have been  nerdy thanks to some fab lotr and hp material I found online, but I’ve got plans for other patterns like nautical designs and initials.

Pandy hoop art

Another idea is the more common hand embroidery art which hoop art. I’ve made quite a few of these over the years and I’ve recently got the confidence to give a couple of presents friends who have previously mentioned that they like my embroidery.

A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor hoop art.

My last idea is, in all honesty, still entirely an idea in my head, I’ve not started looking into it or tried my hand at it yet but if love to give embroidering onto clothes. To find a quote or saying and pop it on a t-shirt or putting a cute little pattern on jeans sounds so exciting to try.

If you're a bird, I'm a bird Hoop Art.

So what do you think of my embroidery? Would you be interested in buying some if I made it available? Which of my ideas most appeal to you? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

