So up until now I’ve managed to keep my Potterhead tendencies to a minimum but here’s my first of many posts totally dedicated to my love of Harry Potter. I thought I’d share with you my 10 favourite quotes from the series, they could be from the books or the movies but overall they’re quote that have caught my eye and stuck with me; and at times help me live my life.

my-10-favourite-hp-quotes

  1. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – Albus Dumbledore

    I know this one’s fairly simple in its meaning but it’s useful to remember at times that no matter how our dreams of things that could have been and might never be might be attractive to us, it’s important to carry on and keep looking forward.

  2. “Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.” – Luna Lovegood

    I’ve always been a fan of Luna, and I find this quote rather potent, to me it’s not just your material possessions that we can lose but our hope, happiness as well as friends and loved ones.

  3. “It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies but a great deal more to stand up to our friends.” – Albus Dumbledore

    This is an important lesson that I think everyone should remember, no matter how difficult it might be we need to stand up for what we believe, especially to our friends.

  4. “It is our choices that show us who we truly are, far more than our abilities.” – Albus Dumbledore

    I’ve found this quote incredibly motivating, on days when I’ve felt like I’m useless. Even if you’re not the best at what your doing, how you choose to tackle the task shows what sort of person you are.

  5. “Of course this is happening inside your head, but why on earth would that mean it’s not real?” – Albus Dumbledore

    This quote really helped me when I was quite ill, going through M.E. was incredibly difficult, especially at 17 when all your friends think you’re just being lazy and making it up. Because, even though I felt the physical symptoms, it was difficult at times not to question it when everyone else did, and you know, even if it had been in my head, that didn’t make it any less real.

    things-we-lose

  6. “Ah, Music. A Magic beyond all we do here!” – Albus Dumbledore

    Music to me truly is magic, it’s therapy, happiness and fun all rolled into one and this quote wraps up my feelings on it.

  7. “You sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got the nerve.” – Ginny Weasley

    Does this one really need explaining? All it takes is a little bit of courage and you can face the world and your dreams could come true.

  8. “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” – Albus Dumbledore

    This one’s as simple as the good old “always look on the bright side of life” song, remember to take with the good with the bad and the world will never be truly scary.

  9. “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”

    It’s always important to be up to no good.

  10. “Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon, doesn’t mean we all have.” – Hermione Granger.

    I love this quote purely for the humour it brings to the situation, this is also one of my favourite quotes as I use it against The Mr when he’s being an emotional wall.

So there you have it, my 10 favourite Harry Potter quotes. What other Harry Potter quotes do you like? Share your favourites with me in the comments.

Amber Signature

