Okay, so when I was younger I was tomboy, & I don’t mean your run of the mill I want to run around rather than play with Barbie kinda tomboy. I mean the refuses to wear dresses even to formal events, never wants to play hair and make-up, always picks soldiers over princesses and prefer to buy boys clothes than girls clothes kinda tomboy. I knew how I wanted to be and I stuck to it.

I think part of it was the societal pressure I felt that I needed to play with Barbie and I needed to wear sweet pretty dresses that really put me off wearing them and even to this day I pick jeans and a t-shirt over a skirt or dress (although I also think that’s down to really crappy self-esteem). Even though this is the case I want to be a bit more girlier, not because society says I should, not because my other half would probably prefer it and not because my nan would be proud of me, but because I want to.

All of this is well and good but I’ve encountered a problem. A rather large, impeding problem. That will 100% completely stop any plans of being “girlier” dead in my tracks… I don’t know how.

I know the simple sides of how I want to be more feminine… I want to do my make up more, I want to be a bit more fashionable, I want to be a bit more graceful. I just have one question…

HOW!?

I can do the basics with make-up… Pencil eyeliner, liquid eyeliner, mascara and lipstick in fact I consider these essentials, but anything else I’m lost at… I don’t know how to lip line, I don’t know how to do smokey eyes and I certainly don’t know how to contour. Seriously, how do you people do it? Especially when it comes to the sort of extreme kardashain lips, brows, contouring, smokey eyes kind of make up.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that I don’t feel the need to take 3 hours to put a face on every morning and things like that but on occasion I’d love to be able to turn up on a night out or to a formal event and slay. 

So really what I’m saying in this post is can you give me advice? What brands do you love? What tips and tricks do you have? How do you find your perfect look? 

And I hope you’re all looking forward to updates from me as I enter the wonderful world of girliness! 

